FAQs for Volunteer Responders

Lone working

Why has a lone volunteering button appeared on the GoodSAM App?

Some volunteers may start to see a new button in the app called ‘Lone working’. Lone working is an app function we have introduced for our new Connect pilot activity. Some volunteers may not be able to see ‘lone working’, because they haven’t yet updated their app. 

I can't see the lone working button on my GoodSAM app?

Some volunteers may not be able to see ‘lone working’, because they haven’t updated their app.  Some people will have auto-update enabled so they won’t need to do this, others may need to do it manually. 

Why am I being asked to check in/out of my volunteering?

The Connect activity is the first in Volunteer Responders to ‘cross the threshold’ of a person’s home. We want to ensure that both you and the person being supported are kept safe and that you have a mechanism to tell us you have arrived and also left and completed the lone working activity. 

How is my data used in the lone working system?

If you’d like to know more please read our privacy statement on the website.

I have accepted a task but on speaking to the person I need to change the date and/or time of the task

Please ring our Support Team on 0808 196 3382 and they will take the details so the task can be amended.

I need to add more time to the appointment

Go into the app and select the Me tab, under the lone working section there is a plus sign at the side, select this and add how much more time is required (in 15 minute intervals).

I need to add more time but I don’t have my phone on me

You will need to leave the person you supporting to get your phone and end the lone working function. Then contact our Support Team so we can change the time and date of the visit.  

I’m at the person's home address and can’t remember how to start lone working

Go into the app select the Me tab, under lone working, toggle to on, answer the duration question (how long you expect to be there) add a reason for the visit i.e. Home visit, then press ‘Start’. You will either see the toggle change to “On” or “Red” dependent if using Android or Apple.  

I’m at the person's home address and can’t remember how to end lone working

Go into the app select the Me tab, under lone working section, slide toggle to off and confirm.

Print entire guide
Page last reviewed: 01 December 2023